Reviews

Review: Defiance (Definace #1) by C.J. Redwine

Book: Defiance
Series: Defiance #1
Author: C.J. Redwine
Date of Publication: August 28, 2012
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Genre: ya, fantasy, dystopia, romance, paranormal, adventure
Source: library

Rating: 5/5 Beans
5Bean - Copy

Short Summary:

Defiance by C. J. Redwine is rich postapocalyptic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Graceling and Tamora Pierce.

While the other girls in the walled city-state of Baalboden learn to sew and dance, Rachel Adams learns to track and hunt. While they bend like reeds to the will of their male Protectors, she uses hers for sparring practice.

When Rachel’s father fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city’s brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector: her father’s apprentice, Logan—the boy she declared her love to and who turned her down two years before. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father’s survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself.

As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can’t be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.

_____

My Thoughts:

I like I like I like!!! This book had me hooked throughout! Apparently, I’ve been picking some good ones lately.  As the debut novel by C.J Redwine, I can honestly say that I’m super excited to read more of her stuff.

Rachel was awesome and knew exactly what it takes to be the alpha female in a society that doesn’t allow her to do as she wishes.  She is a fighter, born and bred; fighting everything from people to her own heart.  She denies the idea that he father is dead and spends her time convincing others that he isn’t dead.  She is joined by her old crush, who denied her once before, Logan.  It took me a while to figure out what to think about Logan.  I knew I liked him in all his apparent bookish nature and for the fact that his looks matched his smarts, and the amount that he stands up for what he believes while taking the punishment and still thinking about how to help others sealed the deal.  He is almost the opposite of Rachel, but sometimes he is exactly the same.  They are a pairing that any lover of young adult fiction will enjoy reading about. I can’t not mention Oliver, the loveable grandfather figure who got this whole debuncle started.  It’s amazing how quickly I, as a reader, got attached to Oliver.  Now, I’m pretty picky when it comes to the bad guys, but the Commander was the perfect representation of someone who valued power over even the slightest of humanity.  He was downright evil, I have nothing else to say about him, other than he was pure evil.

The story itself took me less than 100 pages to get into the story and while the plot didn’t come to light right away, I kind of figured out where the story was going after a little while.  I try to not spoil the plot at all just because that’s what I would prefer as a reader, but I can honestly say that there were several points in this story where I did not expect what was going to happen next.  I highly recommend this story to any lover of a good young adult fantasy adventure with some good romance thrown in!  This book gets five stars from me because I truly loved it!  If I had any issue it would have been with the end because I’m still trying to make sense of what will happen next.

4 thoughts on “Review: Defiance (Definace #1) by C.J. Redwine

  1. I loved this book! I wrote a five stars review too a while back. 🙂 I am planning on reading the second book in the series this weekend as a 2-day read-along with one of my friends. I am super excited to see where the story goes next.

    I also wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Encouraging Thunder Award. If you like participating in tags I’d love to see your answer 🙂
    http://bogdanathebooknerd.blogspot.com/2015/10/encouraging-thunder-award.html

    Like

    1. Awesome! I’m in the same boat, just waiting to get my hands on the second book!
      Thank you so much!! I would love to participate! It will be up soon 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s